bookreview · books · YA

[REVIEW] A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J. Maas

ACOMF.jpg

I had heard so many things about A Court of Thorns and Roses and when I finally had it in my hands, I went through a book slump, finding it so hard to pick up the darn book just to read it.

Fortunately, after trudging through the first few pages of it, I was hooked. My book slump was over. When I finished, I hunted down A Court of Mist and Fury – walking all the way from Oxford Street to the Waterstones at Tottenham Court Road. But that’s a different story. [spoilers below – you have been warned]

*

A Court of Mist and Fury picks up a short while after A Court of Thorns and Roses ends. Feyre is depressed and suffering. Her trials and ordeals Under the Mountain have damaged her, beyond what seems like repair. Craving freedom and peace, she finds restraints, stifling walls and endless nightmares. After months of silence, Rhysand, High Lord of the Night Court returns to call her bargain of spending a week in every month at his Court.

That must be the barest summary ever, but that’s probably all I can say about the first fifth of the book. Even thinking about it makes me shudder. Maas definitely created a dark hole for Feyre. I was so disappointed in Tamlin. I read some reviews on Goodreads that criticised the fact that Maas changed the love interest and that Tamlin’s actions were out of character. But… seriously. Shouldn’t you root for whoever best suits the protagonist?

It only makes sense after becoming Fae that Feyre should find out more information on her new world and the people in it. She had fallen in love with Tamlin pretty quickly and was blinded to any imperfections – of which, I should mention, he most likely tried to hide from her because he was trying to get her to fall in love with him. I’m not suggesting he’s sneaky and fake or anything but when you’re running out of time and almost becoming enslaved forever, you’d probably do the same.

I thought it was realistic. People change over time. Especially people who have been through so much and have used up too much of themselves. Not everyone stays together with the first person they fall in love with.

In terms of pacing, I really, really liked how it was slow at times, which is an odd thing to think. Feyre needed time to heal and we were able to join her on her journey to healing and becoming the powerful, strong woman we all knew she would become. The introduction of Rhysand’s Night Court was great. They were all different and had dimension to them and I liked how they all fit and interacted together. Cassian, Azriel, Amren and of course, Mor.

Rhysand though. Rhysand. Rhys. He was amazing as he was in A Court of Thorns and Roses. If not better. He was so alluring in ACOTAR and I knew, knew we would see more of him in ACOMAF. The character building, the banter and the story made him as ‘faceted as the night sky’ and I was thrilled to bits when he was revealed as Feyre’s mate. I had secret hopes and I was right. It was perfect!

I was a bit annoyed with how Feyre reacted when she found out that Rhys knew all along about them being mates. However, this was definitely within character and understandable because of her insecurity caused by Tamlin – also, we wouldn’t get Feyre’s healing and the hot cabin scenes otherwise.

Overall, I think I liked ACOMAF more than ACOTAR because of the story and character developments. More information of the Fae world was interesting and the fuzzy, dream-like veil over the previous book is gone. Really cannot wait for the next installment in the series! The lure of destroying and fighting the Spring Court/the King of Hybern/ evil mortal queens; spying and lying; Nesta and Elain’s new found Fae-ness is too exciting. Maas’ Instagram informs us she’s busy drafting and 2017 can’t come sooner.

Seeing as how the first book was loosely based on Beauty and the Beast and the second on Hades and Persephone’s story, I wonder which tale the next book will be based on, if any.

(I found the cover of both books really easy to get fingerprints on, which is a shame. It has a nice feel to it though.)

5 stars.

Leave a Reply

